| Posted by | Categories: Travel Info


Most foreign citizens wishing to travel to Kenya require a tourist visa, which can currently be obtained on arrival, or more conveniently, can be paid for online. There is a dedicated website for this service, and visitors can apply for a Single entry visa or Transit to Kenya and pay securely using a VISA card or Mastercard. The website also lists the countries whose nationals do not require a visa for travel to Kenya for tourism.

Single Entry visa: USD $51.

Transit visa USD $21.

These are issued to persons connecting through Kenya to other destinations for a period not exceeding 72 hours. Those connecting with flights directly without leaving the airport don’t need to apply for the Transit visas.


1. Create an account

A single account is all you need for all your future evisa applications

2. Apply and pay

Fill the application form and pay securely using visa or Mastercard.

3. Download

The processing time is 2 business days. Download the evisa PDF from your evisa visitor account.

Once the application is approved, the evisa will be made available to your evisa account. You must print a copy to carry with your passport and bring it along when you travel to Kenya. When you arrive in Kenya, you must have your evisa printout with your passport.

An evisa to Kenya once issued is valid for 3 months before you travel. Once you present yourself to immigration control at the port of entry, you may be issued with a stay period not exceeding 90 days, which may be renewed for a further 90 days at the immigration headquarters. The maximum number of days a visitor may stay in Kenya is 6 months.

Notes: The above information is based on the information availed on the EVisa Website as of September 2017, and all visitors should ensure that they have all their travel documents in order prior to travel. Passports need to be valid for at least 6 months after the dates of travel to Kenya. Additional Information can also be obtained via the nearest Kenyan High Commission/Consulate in your country of residence.


Please visit our Travel Info page on our website for further information on the East Africa Tourist Visa, which is a single visa allowing the holder to visit Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda.